School of Education

With a focus on practical tools and techniques as well as hands-on learning experiences, we equip our students for limitless possibilities.

Welcome to the School of Education

 

The School of Education (SOE) has a strong legacy of success. This legacy is evidenced by our graduates who are recognized by their peers, appreciated by those they serve, and have risen to high ranks within their chosen career path.

100%

Praxis II passing rate (School Counseling Program)

#1

Educational Technology Graduate Online Program (US News and World Report)

#1

CACREP-Accredited Online Career Program in the US

Programs offered at the School of Education are accredited by organizations including the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE/CAEP), the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP), and the Association for Education and Rehabilitation Accreditation Council (AERAC) and are approved by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI).

School of Education Degrees

Students with a teacher

Undergraduate Degrees

At the undergraduate level, the School of Education grants the BA degree for elementary education and middle grades education and the BS degree for early childhood education (Birth through Kindergarten Licensure).

Undergraduate Programs students

Graduate Degrees

The School of Education Graduate Division offers MA, MAT, MEd, MS, and MSA degrees, with both on-campus and online options available.

A group of three MTI Program participants from NCCU

Marathon Teaching Institute Program

The Marathon Teaching Institute (MTI) is designed to increase the number of male school teachers and higher administrators from a broader, more diverse background, particularly male African-American teachers.

NCCU Students working on insructions

Residency Education Licensure Program

North Carolina Central’s Residency Education for Licensure is a model designed to assist residency candidates with meeting residency licensure requirements. 

Student standing outside smiling at the camera.

Certificate Courses

The School of Education allows students to customize their learning experience to fit their own interests and needs.

About the School of Education

The North Carolina Central University School of Education began in 1925 as a collection of courses intended to train black teachers and principals to work in the racially segregated school system of the Jim Crow South.

Eagle flying on a red background

Alston, Kellie P.

Distance Education Lecturer, Early Childhood Education

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: Dent Human Sciences Building, Room Off Campus

Email: Kellie.Alston@nccu.edu

Phone: 336-285-1207

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/kagardner


Eagle flying on a red background

Ampuja, Abby

Adjunct Professor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room

Email: aampuja@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6466


Eagle flying on a red background

Ballentine, Sherry

Adjunct Professor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building

Email: sballen6@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6466


Barrow,

Barrow, Jennifer

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education Program

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2131

Email: jbarrow4@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6353

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/jbarrow4


Eagle flying on a red background

Batts, Talitha Q

Adjunct Professor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building

Email: tbatts10@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6630


Beard,

Beard, Audrey W

Dean

School of Education

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2062

Email: awbeard@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6466


Beckwith,

Beckwith, Alexandra

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education Program

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2086

Email: abeckwi1@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7072


Beckwith,

Beckwith, Jeanette

Clinical Assist Prof, Program Coordinator School Administration

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2091

Email: beckwithj@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7688


Eagle flying on a red background

Belle, Vonda O

University Program Associate

School of Education

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2056

Email: vbelle@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6478


Blount,

Blount, Taheera

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education Program

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2126

Email: tblount5@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-5207

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/tblount5


Eagle flying on a red background

Burno, Tawanda M

Business Officer

School of Education

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2075

Email: tburno1@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7297


Eagle flying on a red background

Chavis, Kimberly M

Lecturer, Program Coordinator Early Childhood Education/BK

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: Dent Human Sciences Building, Room 112

Email: kimberly.chavis@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7144

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/kchavis7


Eagle flying on a red background

Coleman, Sharon

Executive Assistant

School of Education

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2062

Email: scolem28@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-6466


Eagle flying on a red background

Davis, Clarence E

Associate Professor

Curriculum and Instruction instead of Education

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2082

Email: cedavis@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7910


Downing,

Downing, Gregory

Assistant Professor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2090

Email: gdowning@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7842

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/gdowning


Eagle flying on a red background

Dragon, Ray

Technology Support Analyst

School of Education

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2024

Email: rdragon@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7666


Dunston,

Dunston, Yolanda L

Associate Professor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2097

Email: ydunston@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-7536

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/ydunston


Eagle flying on a red background

Eason, Kia

Supplemental Instruction Coordinator

School of Education

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2077

Email: Kia.Eason@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-7286


Eagle flying on a red background

Gibbs-Roseboro, Portia

Assistant Professor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2132

Email: pgibbsro@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-5179


Glass,

Glass, Wykeshia

Associate Professor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: Dent Human Sciences Building, Room 230

Email: wwglass@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6669

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/wwglass


Graham,

Graham, Frances D

Adjunct Professor, Higher Education Administration Program

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2083

Email: fdgraham@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7553


Eagle flying on a red background

Greene, Joseph

Adjunct Instructor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building

Email: jgree137@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6689


Harris,

Harris, Josephine L

Clinical Assist Prof, Program Coordinator School Administration

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2089

Email: jharr122@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6279

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/jharr122


Hicks

Hicks Becton, Latasha

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education Program

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2128

Email: Latasha.Becton@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7696


Eagle flying on a red background

Hicks, Freda

School Partnership & Induction Counselor

School of Education

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2032

Email: fhicks1@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-5174


Eagle flying on a red background

Hill, Geraldine

Assistant Professor, Program Coordinator Elementary Education

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2092

Email: ghill16@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-5181


Eagle flying on a red background

Hinnant, Rashaunte' L

Distant Education Lecturer, Child Development

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: N/A, Room 000

Email: rhinnant@nccu.edu


Horne,

Horne, Robert A

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education Program

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2099

Email: rhorne6@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6691

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/rhorne6


Eagle flying on a red background

Jarrett, Jennifer N

Project Support Coordinator

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building

Email: jjarret3@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6466


Joyner,

Joyner, Juls

Admin Support, Counselor Education Program

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2088

Email: jjoyner@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7289


King,

King, Kelly

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education Program

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2125

Email: kking52@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-5049


Eagle flying on a red background

Kumar, Tracey

Assistant Professor, Program Coordinator Middle Grades

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room

Email: tkumar1@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6604


Kurian,

Kurian, Kyla M

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education Program

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2122

Email: kkurian@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6692

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/kkurian


Kuykendall,

Kuykendall, John

Adjunct Professor, Higher Education Administration

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2083

Email: jkuykend@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7553


Eagle flying on a red background

Lee, Wynetta

Professor, School Administration Program

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2025

Email: wynetta.lee@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-6358


Lupton-Smith,

Lupton-Smith, Helen S

Associate Professor, Counselor Education Program

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2087

Email: hluptons@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7584


Eagle flying on a red background

Lyons, Megan

Assistant Professor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2104

Email: mlyons26@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-5208


Eagle flying on a red background

Mamlin, Nancy L

Adjunct Professor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2136

Email: nmamlin@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7291


McLaughlin,

McLaughlin, Dionne

Assistant Professor, School Administration Program

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2103

Email: dmclaugh@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6620

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/dmclaugh


Eagle flying on a red background

Millsaps, Laura

Student Support Services Specialist

School of Education

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2058

Email: lmillsa2@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-5182


Eagle flying on a red background

Mitchell, Deborah O

Data Manager for Teacher Education Programs (TEP)

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room SOE Curriculum and Instruction - 2nd Floor

Email: dmitchell@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7291


Eagle flying on a red background

Monson, Martin

Adjunct Professor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building

Email: mmonson@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7287


Eagle flying on a red background

Morrison-Danner, Dietrich A

Adjunct Professor, School Administration Program

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room

Email: dmorri12@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6630


Eagle flying on a red background

Murphy, Quintin

SOE Services Specialist

School of Education

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2058

Email: qmurphy1@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6184


Mutisya,

Mutisya, Philliph M

Professor, Program Coordinator Educational Technology

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2093

Email: pmmutisya@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7689

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/pmmutisya


Osler,

Osler, James E

Educational Technology Program

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2129

Email: josler@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-7539

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/josler


Eagle flying on a red background

Peeler, Bre

Adjunct

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room

Email: bpeeler@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7291


Eagle flying on a red background

Pierce, Nigel

Assistant Professor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building

Email: npierce6@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7691


Rice,

Rice, Lakisha

Assistant Professor, School Administration Program

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2102

Email: Lakisha.Rice@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-7437


Eagle flying on a red background

Rodriguez, Marcia

Research Scientist

Communication Disorders

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 1034

Email: mrodri22@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-457-8699


Royal,

Royal, Chadwick W

Professor, Chair, Allied Professions

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2127

Email: croyal@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-6465

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/croyal


Scheft,

Scheft, Thomas W

Professor, Curriculum and Instruction

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2101

Email: tscheft@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-5178


Scott,

Scott, Levette

Assistant Professor, Counselor Education Program

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2123

Email: Levette.Scott@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-6212

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/lsdames


Seigler,

Seigler, Timothy

Associate Professor, School Administration Program

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2100

Email: tseigler@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-5340


Eagle flying on a red background

Short, John

Adjunct Professor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2021

Email: jshort10@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7293


Eagle flying on a red background

Short, Maureen

Associate Professor, Program Coordinator Special Education

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2130

Email: Maureen.Short@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-7489


Eagle flying on a red background

Stewart, Stacy

Teaching Specialist

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building

Email: sstewa34@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6466


Teague,

Teague, Dwain P

Director of Development/ School of Education, SLIS

School of Education

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2021

Email: dteague@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6417


Eagle flying on a red background

Thurman, Jennifer

Faculty

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2133

Email: jthurma8@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-5346


Eagle flying on a red background

Tikkun, Jill

Adjunct

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2134

Email: jtikkun@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7677


Tikkun,

Tikkun, Sean

Assistant Professor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2134

Email: stikkun@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7677

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/stikkun


Eagle flying on a red background

Tyler, Doris K

Adjunct Professor

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2120

Email: dtyler@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-7293

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/dtyler


Warren,

Warren, Jeffrey

Associate Dean

School of Education

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2066

Email: Jeffrey.Warren@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-5180

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/jwarre32


Eagle flying on a red background

White, Erika C

Child Development Lab Director

School of Education

Location: Dent Human Sciences Building, Room 126

Email: esherril@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-6447


Whiting,

Whiting, Peggy P

Professor, Program Coordinator Counselor Education Program

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2124

Email: pwhiting@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-6182

Profile: https://www.nccu.edu/employee/pwhiting


Wiener,

Wiener, William R

Brenda Brodie Endowed Chair

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2105

Email: wwiener@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7175


Eagle flying on a red background

Williams, Gwendolyn

Chair, Curriculum and Instruction

Curriculum and Instruction

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2089

Email: Gwendolyn.Williams@nccu.edu

Phone: 919-530-6689


Williams,

Williams, Regina Gavin

Assistant Professor, Program Coordinator Higher Education Admin

Allied Professions

Location: H. M. Michaux, Jr. School of Education Building, Room 2083

Email: rwill233@NCCU.EDU

Phone: 919-530-7553


Additional Links

Site Footer