NCCU to Host Parade and Pep Rally for 2022 HBCU National Football Champions, Jan. 21

Posted January 12, 2023, 3:02PM

Team defeated Jackson State University 41-34 in Dec. 17 Celebration Bowl

North Carolina Central University (NCCU) will celebrate its football team – the 2022 HBCU National Champion Eagles - with a parade and pep rally at 10 a.m., Saturday, Jan. 21, on campus.

Beginning at Cecil Street, the parade route will run from Fayetteville Street to the entrance of the O’Kelly-Riddick Stadium from Lawson Street. Participants will include NCCU Head Football Coach Trei Oliver '98 and members of the university football program; the Sound Machine; NCCU cheerleaders and Eddie the Eagle mascot; NCCU student leaders; Chancellor Johnson O. Akinleye; and City of Durham Mayor Elaine O’Neal ’84, L‘91.

The pep rally will follow in the stadium with a recognition ceremony of the team and coaching staff by Mayor O’Neal and Chancellor Akinleye.

Attendees will have an opportunity to meet and receive signed posters from the championship-winning team and view and take photos with the Cricket Celebration Bowl and Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Championship trophies.

Following the pep rally, the NCCU Football Team will also be recognized during the men's basketball game at 4 p.m. against Delaware State University.

On Dec. 17, 2022, NCCU Football defeated Jackson State University, 41-34, in the Cricket Celebration Bowl overtime thriller at Atlanta’s Mercedes-Benz Stadium. The university’s 2022 HBCU national title will join the company of those won in 1954, 2005 and 2006.

Media Information

  • Parking is available in Latham Parking Deck (705 E. Lawson St.), which can be accessed from Dupree and Lincoln Streets.
  • NCCU Football Team Interviews: To schedule an interview with a team member, please contact Kyle Serba, deputy athletics director for external affairs, at or 919-530-7054.
map of parade route

You May Also Like

Trustee Michael P. Johnson's headshot
Gift will support the continued curriculum development, marketing and student recruitment efforts for the newly-renamed Michael P. Johnson Business Administration Program.
CASH endowed chairs and professors' headshot
Newest endowed scholars include Zelda Lockhart, Ph.D., Lydia Lindsey, Ph.D., Jonathan Livingston, Ph.D., Gladys Mitchell-Walthour, Ph.D., and Charles Williams.
Michael Newby headshot
Michael Newby will cultivate and steward potential major gift donors with a focus on increasing the pipeline of significant gift prospects for the philanthropic support of the School of Business.