NCCU Department of Music Earns National Accreditation

Posted February 10, 2022, 12:06PM

The North Carolina Central University (NCCU) Department of Music has earned accreditation from the National Association of Schools of Music (NASM).

The accreditation confirms NCCU’s music programs and instruction meet the national standards set forth by the NASM to provide the best environment for musical training to foster an understanding of the arts and an attitude of respect for their potential contribution to society. To receive accreditation, the Department of Music was evaluated on fifteen organizational standards.

“NCCU’s Department of Music is proud to be a newly accredited member of the National Association of Schools of Music, this endorsement carries many benefits and reflects the high quality, innovation and comprehensiveness of the department,” said Baron Tymas, interim chair of the NCCU Department of Music. “This is the first time in the history of the program that we have earned this prestigious and selective accreditation. We extend thanks to our outstanding faculty, students, staff and administration for their hard work and support through the process.”

NCCU’s Department of Music met all standards for accreditation for its bachelor’s degree programs including jazz, music education and music industry. The department also received accreditation for its jazz studies master’s program. NCCU will undergo its next accreditation evaluation during the 2026-27 academic year.

The NASM is an organization of schools, conservatories colleges, and universities with approximately 639 accredited institutional members. It establishes national standards for undergraduate and graduate degrees and other credentials for music and music-related disciplines and provides assistance to institutions and individuals engaged in artistic, scholarly, educational and other music-related endeavors.

To learn more about NCCU’s Department of Music, visit For additional information on NASM accreditation, visit

You May Also Like

Trustee Michael P. Johnson's headshot
Gift will support the continued curriculum development, marketing and student recruitment efforts for the newly-renamed Michael P. Johnson Business Administration Program.
CASH endowed chairs and professors' headshot
Newest endowed scholars include Zelda Lockhart, Ph.D., Lydia Lindsey, Ph.D., Jonathan Livingston, Ph.D., Gladys Mitchell-Walthour, Ph.D., and Charles Williams.
Michael Newby headshot
Michael Newby will cultivate and steward potential major gift donors with a focus on increasing the pipeline of significant gift prospects for the philanthropic support of the School of Business.