Beta Gamma Sigma Honor Society Inducts Newest Cohort of Business Scholars

Posted April 23, 2020, 2:12PM

The North Carolina Central University (NCCU) School of Business has welcomed 27 business scholars into the Beta Gamma Sigma International Business Honor Society on March 1, 2020.

Founded in 1913, the honor society is the highest recognition a business student can receive from an Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) International.

Eligible students represent the top 10% of undergraduate students and the top 20% of graduate students at AACSB-accredited schools. The premier association accredits only 5% of business schools worldwide. The NCCU School of Business originally received accreditation in 2006. 

NCCU’s chapter president Taylor Ford enjoys the network building aspect offered through membership. 

“Beta Gamma Sigma impacted my undergraduate career tremendously,” said Ford. “The connections and relationships I have built through the affiliation of Beta Gamma Sigma is something that I will always cherish.”

Members are offered various networking and leadership opportunities including: conferences, workshops to strengthen interpersonal skills, exclusive scholarships, graduate application fee waivers and discounts to designated retailers.

The association’s value is not lost upon its members including NCCU’s chapter vice-president, Hollan Strepay.

“Being a member of Beta Gamma Sigma is an honor that comes with great responsibilities,” said Strepay. “I am proud to be a part of an organization that serves as a connector of both educational and professional opportunities.” 

The 2019-2020 inductees possess the scholarly requirements and commitment to education that the association so richly represents. Three School of Business professors are also included among its news members.

Inductees include:

Alisha Malloy, Ph.D. 

Kayvan Lavassani, Ph.D. 

Raghavan Iyengar, Ph.D. 

Celinda Bailey 

Stacey Biles 

Malcolm T. Brown 

Brian Bullock 

Mauricio Cabrera 

Miguel Campos Umana 

Lakeisha Crews 

Tierra Ferebee 

Jared Garland 

Zafira Harris 

Russell Henry 

Jurasia Horvat 

Moziqe Howard 

Kiara Hurley 

Rodney Jeffreys 

Viridiana Jimenez Diaz 

Jacobia Johnson 

Christopher Krennrich 

Caleb McRoy 

Pablo Moya 

Tanea Norton 

Azianna Simmons 

ShaNiyah Spencer 

Amiah Taliaferro 

Sativa Temple 

Anita Torres-Nunez 

Aaron Totten 

Alleya Williams

Pictured L to R : Chapter Advisor Sybil Henderson, Ph.D., New Inductees Jacobia Johnson and Aaron Totten, Chapter President Taylor Ford and School of Business Dean Anthony Nelson, Ph.D.

You May Also Like

Sign on BN Duke
Happy New Year and welcome to the spring 2021 semester!
NCCU will host a number of events in January to honor the life and vision of the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.
Business Suits
The School of Business, along with its corporate partner, Dell, have developed a career closet to support the needs of business students.