About NCCU Academics Admissions Athletics Campus Life Giving Research

Dr. Debra Saunders-White Named Golden Key International Honour Society Honorary Member

Chancellor Debra Saunders-White and members of the NCCU chapter of the Golden Key International Honour Society
Published: Friday, March 07, 2014

The Golden Key International Honour Society at North Carolina Central University selected NCCU Chancellor Debra Saunders-White as an honorary member of the campus chapter in recognition of her dedication to academics, leadership and service.

The three tenants embodied by NCCU’s 11th chancellor are central to the message of Golden Key, a global honor society for college students who demonstrate academic excellence.

“Through her passion for students and her campaign for ‘Eagle Excellence,’ it was clear that she represented what Golden Key was all about,” said Darryl Lewis, an NCCU student and president of the campus chapter.

Honorary members of the Society are chosen by student members, chapter officers and advisors based on individual accomplishments on campus or in the community. Mentors are critical to the organization, serving as role models to younger members, said Derek Swemmer, chairman of the NCCU chapter’s board of directors.

“It is my pleasure to welcome Dr. Saunders-White,” Swemmer added. “We take pride in our honorary members and their dedication to the embodiment of the three pillars of Golden Key.”

Saunders-White was inducted on March 2. 

Her official installation ceremony as NCCU chancellor will take place April 4. She was appointed to the position by the University of North Carolina Board of Governors on Feb. 8, 2013.

Although membership in Golden Key is tied to strength in academics, the core mission is to enable members to realize their potential by combining academics, leadership and service, Swemmer said.

The Society has more than 2 million members in eight countries, including Australia, Canada, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, South Africa, The Bahamas and the United States.

Golden Key honorary members include university presidents, vice presidents, chancellors, provosts, deans, departmental directors and professors. Some of our distinguished honorary members include Bill Clinton, Desmond Tutu, Stephen King and Ian Thorpe.

Honorary members from the chapter at NCCU include Dr. John Myers, professor of chemistry;  Dr. Deborah Bailey,  director of the Academic Community Service Learning program;  Rosa Anderson, director of student service programs and Dr. Carlton Wilson, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.





Spread the Word

Post this story on Facebook
Tweet It

Get More News

  • All NCCU News
  • Campus Echo - Student News
  • See Today's Top Story
  • Or,  
© 2017
North Carolina Central University
1801 Fayetteville St., Durham, NC 27707