About NCCU Academics Research Admissions Campus Life Athletics Giving

Faculty Senate Standing Committees

Duties of Committees

Consistent with its general purpose and the Senate Bylaws, the committees will work alone or in appropriate formal or informal collaboration with other committees to address matters that fall within areas of concern to the faculty. The duties of the standing committees will be the following:

a. The Academic Policies Committee will recommend new academic policies or changes in existing policies. The committee will also recommend solutions for problems involving the academic standards of the University covered by existing policies.

Members

Ronald Penny (CBSS)
Public Administration
Email: rgpenny@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7977
Andrea Woodson-Smith (CBSS)
Physical Education and Recreation
Email: awoodsonsmith@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7433
   
Karen Grimwood
J.E. Shepard Library
Email: kgrimwood@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6383
Melvin Carver (CAS)
Art
Email: mcarver@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7045
   
Sherry Eaton (CBSS)
Psychology
Email: seaton@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6357
Grace Hao (SOE)
School of Education
Email: jhao@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7836
   
Lorna Grant (CBSS) - Chair
Criminal Justice
Email: lgrant@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-5195
Kia Vernon (SOL)
Law
Email: kvernon@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7816

 

b. The Campus Relations and Welfare Committee will review matters related to the well-being of students and faculty or relations between faculty, students, staff, and administrators. The committee will make recommendations for actions that will contribute to the satisfaction of faculty and students with the University environment.

Members

Judy Land (SOB)
Business
Email: jland@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7611
Amy Linder (CBSS) - Secretary
Physical Education and Recreation
Email: alinder@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-5463
   
Ravanasamudram Uma (CAS)
Mathematics and Physics
Email: ruma@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6236
Thomas Ding (CAS)
Bio-manufacturing Research Institute and Technology Enterprise
Email: tding@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6600
   
Arthur Reese (CAS)
Theatre
Email: amreese@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7341
Wadeeah Beyah (CBSS) - Chair
Human Sciences
Email: wbeyah@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7145

 

c. The Committee on Committees will determine the need for new committees, changes in function and/or names of existing committees, and the dissolution of committees. This committee will meet at least once a year with the Governance Committee to ensure consistency between the two committees

Members

Abm Nasir
Business
Email: anasir@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7372
Vicki Lamb (CBSS)
Sociology
Email: vlamb@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7610
   
Larry Williams (CSBB)
Social Work
Email: ldwilliams@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6499
Timothy Mulrooney (CAS) - Chair
Environmental, Earth and Geospatial Sciences
Email: tmulroon@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6575
   
Jarvis Hargrove (CAS) - Secretary
History
Email: jargro9@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6274
Belinda Jones (CBSS)
Public Health Education
Email: bjones@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7129

 

d. The Faculty Research and Professional Development Committee will review policies related to professional growth in the areas of research, teaching and service and will recommend new policies or changes in existing policies. The committee will also examine specific issues of professional development such as: funding for research and professional development, provision of release time, library resources, course loads, professional leaves, support staff, on-and-off campus seminars, and the development of promotion/tenure portfolios.

Members

Hsin-Yi (CBSS)
Physical Education and Recreation
Email: hliu@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6256
John Prince (CAS)
Language and Literature
Email: jsprince@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7991
   
Mildred Pointer (CAS)
Bio-manufacturing Research Institute and Technology Enterprise
Email: mpointer@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7016
Kenethia Fuller (CBSS)
Criminal Justice
Email: Kenethia.fuller@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-5196
   
Harvey Hinton (SOE)
School of Education
Email: hhinton@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7175
Danielle Colbert Lewis
James E. Shepard Memorial Library
Email: dcolbert@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-5237
   
Charles Mitchell
Human Sciences
Email: imitchell@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7462
 

 

e. The Governance Committee will review the Constitution and Bylaws of the Senate at least once in every year, propose amendments when necessary, and manage all aspects of submission and approval of amendments. It will oversee all other matters that pertain to the structure and function of the Senate. In addition, the committee will ensure that a record of the terms and tenures of officers and Senators is maintained and plan a recognition service for them during the April meeting of the Senate. The committee will meet at least once a year with the Committee on Committees to ensure internal consistency between the two committees.

Members

Andrea Woodson-Smith (CBSS)
Physical Education and Recreation
Email: awoodsonsmith@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7433
Kofi Amoateng (SOB)
Business
Email: amoateng@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7384
   
Wadeeah Beyah (CBSS)
Human Sciences
Email: wbeyah@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7145
Cotina Jones
J.E. Shepard Library
Email: cjone104@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7312
   
Terry Mosley (CAS)
History
Email: tmosley@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7134
Gertrude Jackson (CBSS) - Chair
Social Work Program
Email: gjackson@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7330
   
Deniz Palak (SOE)
Education
Email: dpalak@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7401
 

 

f. The Honorary Degrees, Memorials, and Special Awards Committee will nominate and recommend approval of individuals as recipients of honorary degrees, memorials, and special awards. In addition, this committee will make recommendations for approval or disapproval of the naming of buildings or other facilities of the University in honor of individuals or other entities, such as the Golden Leaf Foundation. The consideration and recommendations made by this committee will in accordance with established criteria.

Members

John Kuzenski (CBSS)
Political Science
Email: jkuzenski@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7258
Andrea Woodson-Smith (CBSS)
Physical Education and Recreation
Email: awoodsonsmith@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7433
   
Brett Chambers (CAS) - Chair
Mass Communications
Email: bchambers@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-5046
Tim Holley (CAS)
Music
Email: tholley@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6437
   
Delores Grant (CAS)
Biology
Email: dgrant@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7018
Igor Bondarev
Mathematics and Physics
Email: ibondarev@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6623
   
Peggy Whiting (SOE)
Allied Professions
Email: pwhiting@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6182
Kofi Amoateng (SOB)
Business
Email: amoateng@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7384

 

g. The International Affairs Committee will review policies and make recommendations related to global studies and study abroad working in concert with the Office of International Affairs. The committee will examine specific issues of international research and education, exchange and study abroad programs, and the status and welfare of international students and scholars.

Members

Somnath Mukhopadhyay
Chemistry
Email: smukhopadhyay@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7762
Cotina Jones
J.E. Shepard Library
Email: cjone104@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7312
   
Alade Tokuta
Science and Technology
Email: atokuta@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-5108
Lorna Grant (CBSS) - Chair
Criminal Justice
Email: lgrant@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-5291
   
Brett Chambers (CAS) - Chair
Mass Communications
Email: bchambers@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-5046
Larry Williams (CSBB) - Chair
Social Work
Email: ldwilliams@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6499
   
Janice Dargan
History
Email: jdargan@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6943
 

 

h. The Faculty Handbook Committee will annually receive and review proposed changes to the Faculty Handbook. The process for submitting and approving changes to the Faculty Handbook is described in Chapter 1, Section 1.5. In addition, the Faculty Handbook Committee will make changes to the Faculty Handbook as necessary due to changes in The Code or Policy Manual that are enacted by the University of North Carolina Board of Governors. The chair of the Faculty Handbook Committee must be a tenured faculty member.

Members

Belinda Jones (CBSS)
Public Health Education
Email: bjones@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7129
Grace Hao (SOE) - Secretary
Communication Disorders
Email: jhao@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7836
   
Jarvis Hargrove (CAS) - Vice Chair
History
Email: jhargro9@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6274
Ernestine Lassiter (SON)
Nursing
Email: elassiter@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7224
   
Kevin Foy (SOL)
Law
Email: kfoy@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-7818
Gabriel Peterson
Library and Information Sciences
Email: gpeterson@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6746
   
Vinston Goldman (CBSS)
Psychology
Email: vgoldman@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-6471
Harvey McMurray (CBSS)
Criminal Justice
Email: hmcmurray@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-5204
   
Alade Tokuta - Chair
Science and Technology
Email: atokuta@nccu.edu
Phone: 919-530-5108
 
 
© 2014
North Carolina Central University
1801 Fayetteville St., Durham, NC 27707