About NCCU Academics Admissions Athletics Campus Life Giving Research

History of Department of Psychology

 Arguably, the founder of Psychology at NCCU was James E. Taylor whom Dr. James E. Shepard, founder of the university, hired in 1927 to teach courses in education.  His challenges as a teacher and his awareness of the expanding behavioral science literature persuaded Taylor to incorporate psychology theories and principles into his classes.  His knowledge of psychology was based largely upon what he was able to teach himself. He urged Dr. Shepard to offer more psychology courses and, later, to establish a psychology major. Dr. Shepherd appointed James E. Taylor to chair this new department in 1927.  With the creation and offering of four psychology courses, the undergraduate psychology department was established in 1939.  The graduate psychology program was later established in 1945.

The building in which the department is housed was renamed the Taylor Education Building in honor of the founder and first chair of the department, James E. Taylor. Although the decision to dedicate the building in his honor was made 12 months before his death, Dr. Taylor died 3 months before the building was officially dedicated to him at the 1960 Commencement Convocation.

Since its humble beginning in 1927, the Department of Psychology has grown to encompass 10 full-time faculty, over 450 undergraduate and 80 graduate students and has generated millions of dollars in funded research. Students desiring a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Psychology may choose from 30 psychology-related course offerings while the Graduate Program offers a Master of Arts Degree with either a General or Clinical concentration. Graduates of our undergraduate and graduate programs who have gone on to pursue doctorates in universities across the country have assumed leadership positions in both the private and public sector. 

Some persons of note associated with and/or graduates of the program include Dr. Marion Thorpe (deceased), past President of Elizabeth City State University, Dr. Norman Anderson, past CEO of the American Psychological Association and Dr. Elwood Robinson, former chair and the first Dean of the College of Behavioral and Social Sciences at NCCU, and the current Chancellor of Winston-Salem State University.

Department Chairpersons

James E. Taylor - 1927 - 1946 
Howard E. Wright - 1946 - 1960
George Kyle - 1960 - 1961
Carol C. Bowie - 1962 - 1962
Alonzo Davis - 1962 - 1976 
Les Brinson - 1976 - 1996
Elwood Robinson - 1996 - 1999
Linda Pratt - 1999 - 2003
Les Brinson  - 2003 - 2009
Richard Mizelle - 2010 - 2011
Pamela Martin - 2011 - 2013
Sherry Eaton - 2013 - present

© 2016
North Carolina Central University
1801 Fayetteville St., Durham, NC 27707